CWC 2023: Glenn Maxwell shatters records following his 106-run knock against Netherlands

3 Min Read

NEW DELHI: Following his 106-run knock from 44 balls against the Netherlands in the 24th match of the ODI World Cup at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Wednesday, Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell shattered several records.

Maxwell played a solid partnership with Pat Cummins of 103 runs against the Dutch side and made the highest seventh-wicket stand or lower for AUS in World Cups.

Nathan Coulter-Nile and Steven Smith stand in second place with a 102-run partnership against West Indies in 2019. Michael Bevan and Andy Bichel hold the third place with their 37-run partnership against New Zealand in 2003.

Maxwell also has joint second-most sixes by an Aussie player in a World Cup innings with eight sixes. Ricky Ponting also smashed eight sixes in his innings against India in the 2003 WC final. Aussie opener David Warner holds the first place with nine sixes against Pakistan in 2023. Mitchell Marsh is in the second spot with nine sixes against Pakistan in the ongoing ODI World Cup.

Maxwell became the third Aussie cricketer to smash the most sixes for Australia in the 50-over format with 138 maximums. Ricky Ponting holds the top spot with 159 sixes. Meanwhile, Adam Gilchrist is in second place with 148 sixes.

Coming to the match, Australia opted to bat first and scored 399/8 in just 50 overs. Maxwell (106) and David Warner (104 in 93 balls with 11 fours and three sixes) led the onslaught with their centuries.

Steve Smith (71 in 68 balls, with nine fours and six) and Marnus Labuschagne (62 in 47 balls with seven fours and two sixes), who smashed half-centuries.

Logan van Beek (4/74) and Bas de Leede (2/115) were among the pick of the bowlers for the Netherlands.

Australia (Playing XI): David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis (Wk), Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Pat Cummins (C), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa.

Netherlands (Playing XI): Vikramjit Singh, Max ODowd, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Scott Edwards (Wk/C), Sybrand Engelbrecht, Logan van Beek, Roelof van der Merwe, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren. (ANI)

Share This Article