BJP tries to put a lid on controversial statements by leaders, issues notices to 11

2 Min Read
Senior BJP leader B S Yediyurappa and former minister Govind Karjol arriving at the party office at Malleswaram in Bengaluru on Friday.

BENGALURU: After public comments by several BJP leaders on alleged ‘adjustment politics’ in the Assembly election held in May, the party has issues show-cause notices to 11 leaders and sought explanation from them.

On Friday, senior BJP leaders, under the leadership of former CM B S Yediyurappa held a meeting at the party office in Malleswaram wherein explanation was sought from some of the leaders. Yediyurappa said, “We called them and advised them not to make public statements. if they continue making such statements, they have been warned of disciplinary action”.

Former CM B S Yediyurappa, state president Nalin Kumar Kateel and MLC Ravikumar addressing the media after the meeting.

BJP state president Nalin Kumar Kateel said notices were issued to 11 leaders and their responses were sought. “It has been decided to take disciplinary action will be taken against those who indulged in anti-party activities prior to and during the election”, he said. Former CM B S Yediyurappa has been entrusted the task of talking to his former political secretary M P Renukacharya over his outburst against party functionaries.

Legislative Council member N Ravikumar said, “Notices were issued to 11 people among whom Prabhu Chavan, Murugesh Nirani, Eshwar Singh Thakur, Ramesh Jigajinagi did not show up today. They have said they will give their explanation at a later date. Union Minister Bhagawant Khubha, MP Pratap Simha, MLA Basanagouda Patil Yatnal, former MLA Veeranna Charantimath, A S Patil Nadahalli and Tammesh Gowda have given their explanation”, he said.

Union minister Pralhad Joshi, BJP national general secretary C T Ravi, former minister Govind Karjol and state general secretaries were present at the meeting.

Share this Article