BJP set to retain all Bengaluru seats, snatches Bengaluru Rural from ruling Congress

Public TV English
Public TV English
4 Min Read
Clockwise: PC Mohan, Tejasvi Surya, Shobha Karandlaje and Dr C N Manjunath.

BENGALURU: The opposition BJP in the state was poised to retain all the three seats in Bengaluru city while snatching the lone Bengaluru Rural seat the Congress held during the previous term.

While PC Mohan was headed to win his fourth term from Bangalore Central Lok Sabha constituency, Tejasvi Surya was headed for a massive victory from Bangalore South, ensuring his second term. Union Minister Shobha Karandlaje, who is a fresh face in Bangalore North constituency, was poised for a huge win from Bangalore North Lok Sabha constituency.

In Bengaluru Rural, renowned cardiologist Dr C N Manjunath, son-in-law of former PM H D Deve Gowda, trounced D K Suresh of the Congress by a big margin. While conceding defeat, Suresh thanked the voters and congratulated Dr Manjunath.

Bangalore Central candidate PC Mohan who will be having a fourth term.

Bangalore Central candidate PC Mohan said, “I am happy that I have won for the fourth time. My victory margin is over 40,000 votes, but it hasn’t been updated on the Election Commission website. We’re only awaiting an official announcement”. The BJP had polled 6,48,412 with a lead of 27,899 votes while Congress candidate Mansoor Ali polled 6,20,513 as per the Election Commission website.

Shobha Karandlaje will be representing Bangalore North for the first time.

In Bangalore North, BJP candidate Shobha Karandlaje had polled 9,70,924 while the Congress’ Prof Rajeev Gowda had polled 7,04,088 votes. Shobha Karandlaje said, “The official results are still awaited, but as of now, I have a lead of 2.5 lakh votes and I am confident the margin will increase. We all know how many seats the INDI Alliance is winning. We will win majority and form the government and Narendra Modi will be our Prime Minister”.

In Bangalore South constituency, incumbent Tejasvi Surya was all set to get reelected with a lead of 2,68,077 votes. He had polled 7,27,537 votes against Congress candidate Sowmya Reddy who had polled 4,59,460 votes.

Incumbent Tejasvi Surya seems set for a second term.

Thanking voters for electing him for a second term, and also senior party leaders, Surya said, “The voters have taught a lesson to those who misused official machinery. We will continue on the path of development. We may fall short of 400+ seats, but perhaps there was some problem in communicaton”.

This Lok Sabha election was Dr CN Manjunath’s foray into electoral politics.

Bangalore Rural BJP candidate Dr C N Manjunath said, “I hadn’t expected such a huge win. All this is due to the efforts of party workers and leaders. I dedicate my win to the party workers in the constituency. During the campaign, though people did not reach out to me, they have voted for me secretly. I thank everyone and will work to live up to their trust’.

Share This Article