4-6 sitting MLAs likely to be denied tickets, announces Yediyurappa

3 Min Read
BJP senior leader B S Yediyurappa addressing a press conference in Kalaburagi on Tuesday.

KALABURAGI: Senior BJP leader and former chief minister B S Yediyurappa on Tuesday dropped a bombshell when he said 4-6 sitting legislators will not be given the party tickets for the upcoming Assembly election.

Addressing a press conference here, he said almost all the sitting MLAs will be given tickets, barring a few. “Those who want to join the party are welcome and those who plan to quit can do so. We will release the list of candidates as soon as possible”, he said.

Among those likely to be axed include 3-4 leaders due to the age factor and another 4-5 leaders who are entangled in corruption cases, audio leaks, and 4-5 others facing anti-incumbency. Public TV had earlier reported that about a dozen sitting MLA may be dropped in the upcoming election.

Yediyurappa announced that 4-6 sitting MLAs may be denied tickets in the upcoming election.

Meanwhile, Yediyurappa stressed that the party will win 30 of the 41 seats in Kalyana Karnataka region. “Congress leader Ramesh Kumar has earlier said they have made enough money to last generations. KPCC president D K Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah should clarify on this. People are not attending the Praja Dhwani Yatra while they are turning up in huge number for our yatra. The mood is in favour of the BJP”, he claimed.

To the Congress charge that the BJP’s top leadership is repeatedly visiting the state as it does not have state leaders of stature, Yediyurappa said, “If they want, let them invite Rahul Gandhi. But why are they not doing it? Which leader goes abroad and talks ill about the country?” he retorted.

Yediyurappa said Prime Minister Narendra Modi will participate in the conclusion of the Vijay Sankalp Yatra at Davanagere. “Basavakalyan should be developed into a major centre. I will discuss about having a separate ministry for Kalyana Karnataka region”, he added.

On his son B Y Vijayendra contesting the Assembly polls, he said it is up to the central leadership to decide from where he should contest. “It could be Shikaripura or elsewhere, but I think it will be Shikaripura”, he added.

Share This Article