‘People will slap Congress leaders through voting’: Bommai on minister Tangadagi’s remark

Public TV English
Public TV English
3 Min Read

HUBBALLI: Former Chief Minister and BJP leader Basavaraj Bommai asked the Siddaramiah-led Congress government in Karnataka to “disclose” details of the NDRF funds received during the UPA and NDA regimes.

Speaking to reporters in Hubbali on Tuesday, he said, “The state’s economic condition has become horrible due to which it moved the Supreme Court. It was nothing but a political stunt. Instead of complaining about the non-receipt of funds from the central government, the Congress leaders must furnish details of the NDRF funds received during the UPA and NDA governments”.

Reacting to Kannada and Culture Minister Shivaraj Tangadagi’s statement that those who raise the ‘pro-Modi slogan’ ‘must be slapped’, the former CM said, “Wait for some time; people will slap the Congress party through voting”.

Speaking at a meeting of the Congress workers held in Karatagi earlier, Tangadagi said, “PM Modi promised two crore jobs. Did he give it? They should be ashamed. Those youth supporters of his who chant ‘Modi Modi’, should be slapped. They have run everything based on lies for the past 10 years”.

On the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Karnataka, Bommai said, “The situation in Karnataka has been conducive for the BJP due to the Modi wave across the nation. Dissidence is being resolved (within the party) and the sitting Koppal MP, Karadi Sanganna, is now satisfied”, he said.

Bommai said national leaders will come here for the poll campaign along with celebrities. “The tour programme of the national leaders will be finalised within two or three days. They will campaign in Dharwad and Gadag-Haveri constituencies. Former CM Yediyurappa and state BJP President B Y Vijendra will campaign in Haveri Lok Sabha constituency”.

He said, “The BJP has become further strong with the re-entry of Gali Janardhan Reddy, who can influence (voters) in three to four districts.”

The 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka will poll in two phases on April 26 and May 7. The Lok Sabha Elections 2024 will be held in seven phases, starting April 19. The counting of votes has been scheduled for June 4. (ANI)

Share This Article