Pema Khandu sworn in as Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister for third straight term

Public TV English
Public TV English
5 Min Read

ITANAGAR: BJP leader Pema Khandu took oath as the chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh for the third term consecutive term on Thursday.

The swearing-in ceremony held at DK State Convention Centre in Itanagar was attended by Union Ministers Amit Shah, J P Nadda, Kiren Rijiju and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Khandu, 44, became Chief Minsier for the first time in 2016. He was re-elected as leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Arunachal Pradesh on Wednesday, paving the way for him to be sworn in as the Chief Minister for the third straight term.

Arunachal Pradesh Governor Lieutenant General K T Parnaik (retd.) invited Khandu to form the government. The BJP won 46 seats in the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh assembly in the elections held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha election. BJP won ten seats unopposed in the state before the elections were held.

Ahead of the event, Assam Minister Ashok Singhal said there is great enthusiasm among the people as the BJP is forming the government once again in the state. “People are very excited. There is enthusiasm among everyone in the state. Once again, the BJP is forming a government in Arunachal under the leadership of Pema Khandu. Our responsibility is increasing because people are trusting us more”, Singhal said.

Amit Shah and J P Nadda arrived in Itanagar on Wednesday night to attend the swearing-in ceremony. They were received by party workers at the Itanagar airport with great enthusiasm. The BJP Arunachal Pradesh posted on X showing the enthusiasm and excitement of party workers at the Itanagar airport ahead of Amit Shah’s arrival.

“The josh of karyakartas and wave of excitement filled Donyi Polo Airport, Itanagar, as Home Minister Amit Shah and Health & Family Welfare Minister cum National President JP Nadda arrived for their maiden visit to the state post the historic victory”, it said.

On Wednesday, Pema Khandu, MLA along with Union Minister Kiren Rijiju, Chowna Mein, MLA and Tapir Gao, MP (Lok Sabha), BJP party central observers Ravi Shankar Prasad, Trun Chugh, Arunachal Pradesh State Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President, Biyuram Wahge, called on the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh Lieutenant General KT Parnaik (retd.) at Raj Bhavan, Itanagar.

Pema Khandu briefed the Governor about the meeting held on Wednesday of 46 elected members of the Arunachal Pradesh State Legislative Assembly from BJP in the recently concluded 8th Legislative Assembly election of Arunachal Pradesh.

He informed the Governor that the 46 members of the 8th Arunachal Pradesh State Legislative Assembly had unanimously elected him as their leader in the 8th Legislative Assembly of the State and staked his claim to form the government.

Under the provisions of Article 164 (1) of the Constitution of India, the Governor invited Khandu, MLA to form the Government and take oath as the Chief Minister on June 13 at 11 am at Dorjee Khandu State Convention Centre, Itanagar. The Governor requested Khandu to advise and inform him about the names of others to be appointed as members of his Council of Ministers.

The BJP won 46 seats in the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh assembly in the elections held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha election. Ten seats were already won by the BJP unopposed before the polls. (ANI)

Share This Article