Congress releases list of 55 candidates for Meghalaya Assembly election

Public TV English
Public TV English
4 Min Read

NEW DELHI: The All India Congress Committee on Wednesday night released a list of 55 candidates for the upcoming Meghalaya Assembly election after the party’s Central Election Committee meeting, said an AICC press release.

The party has fielded Shillong Lok Sabha MP Vincent Pala from the Sutnga Saipung constituency, added the press release.

Last week, the lone Nationalist Congress Party MP Saleng Sangma switched over to the Congress. He has been fielded by the party as the candidate from the Gambegre constituency, as per the statement. Most of the candidates being fielded by Congress are fresh faces.

On Wednesday, the Election Commission announced the schedule for Assembly elections in the northeastern Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland to be held in February-March this year. The results of all three states will be declared on March 2, 2023.

“Voting for Assembly elections in Tripura will be held in a single phase on February 16 and in Nagaland and Meghalaya on February 27. The results will be declared on March 2,” Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said during a press conference.

The CEC had said that the terms of the poll-bound states of Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura are coming to an end on March 12, 15, and 22 respectively.

“The term of Assemblies of respective states in Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura are respectively due to expire on March 12, 15, and 22. The 3 states have 60 Assembly constituencies each,” the CEC had said.

Detailing the number of voters in the poll-bound states, Kumar said, “There are more than 62.8 lakh electors combined in Nagaland, Meghalaya & Tripura including – 31.47 lakh female electors, 97,000 80+ voters, and 31,700 PwD voters. Over 1.76 lakh first-time voters to participate in the elections in 3 states.”

He also informed that there will be some polling stations managed completely by PwDs and women staff. Women will be in command in 376 PS across Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura.

Noting that the three states have “terrain-related challenges”, Kumar reiterated the ECI’s commitment in conducting free and fair polls.

“The three states have terrain-related challenges, but the Commission is committed to participating in free and fair participative accessible and ethical elections in these three states,” he said.

The CEC said that the officials from the Commission recently visited the three states and met the officials regarding the poll preparations and directed them to resort to “zero tolerance” for any kind of violence during the elections.

“We recently visited these three states from January 11 to 15, and met all the district collectors, SPs, DGs and all the enforcement agencies. There are only 2-3 states of the entire country in which pre-poll, during the poll or post-poll violence is left. there was no violence in the last 12 elections. With the help of the district administration, we have told them very clearly that society should have zero tolerance for any kind of violence during the elections,” he had said. (ANI)

Share This Article