Drought is guaranteed if Congress comes to power: Basavaraj Bommai

Public TV English
Public TV English
3 Min Read

GADAG: Former chief minister and Gadag-Haveri Lok Sabha constituency BJP candidate Basavaraj Bommai on Monday said that drought is guaranteed if the Congress party comes to power. “Drought is guaranteed if the Congress party comes to power and it is an anti-farmer and anti-people government”, he said.

The former Karnataka CM said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi has given guarantees for rural women such as housing, drinking water, toilets, Ujwala has and rice. He said that as many as eight lakh houses had been given under the PM Awas Yojna and 12 lakh toilets have been provided.

Speaking at a roadshow in Ramagiri of Shirahatti Assembly constituency, he said Modi has been an able administrator and has given a permanent guarantee to everyone.

“As many as eight lakh houses had been given under the PM Awas Yojna and 12 lakh toilets, besides, tap water to every house. In Haveri district, the Jal Jeevan Mission scheme was being implemented for Rs 1,300 crore and it would be implemented even in Shirahatti, and it would solve drinking water problems. It would be implemented during the rainy season”, he said.

Bommai said he had implemented the Raitha Nidhi Scheme for the children of farmers but the incumbent Congress government stopped it.

“Even the scheme of giving Rs 4,000 to each farmer under the Kisan Sanman scheme has been stopped. The incentive scheme for milk producers had been stopped. The previous BJP government had hiked pensions for senior citizens and widows by Rs 200 and Rs 400 for the physically challenged. The slippers of the people had flattened, seeking guarantees”, said Bommai.

He further said that PM Modi has given everything to the people and the people must show gratitude by voting for the BJP.

Karnataka, which has 28 Lok Sabha seats, will vote in two phases on April 26 and May 7. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress and JD-S fought together against the BJP and the combine was decimated. The BJP had won a record 25 seats; Congress and JD-S won just one seat each. In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 17 seats, while the Indian National Congress (INC) won 9, and the Janata Dal (Secular) two seats.

The Lok Sabha elections 2024 will be held in seven phases, starting on April 19. The counting of votes is on June 4. (ANI)

Share This Article