Lok Sabha election results: TMC’s Mahua Motra leading in Krishnanagar

Public TV English
Public TV English
2 Min Read

KOLKATA (West Bengal) : TMC’s Mahua Moitra, who is seeking re-election from West Bengal’s Krishnanagar seat, is leading with a vote margin of 60527 against BJP candidate Amrita Roy, as per ECI.

Bharatiya Janata Party’s Amrita Roy has so far garnered 238294 votes. In the 2019 Lok Sabha election, Mahua Moitra won from Krishnanagar Lok Sabha seat by winning 614,872 votes.

West Bengal BJP Chief Sukanta Majumdar contesting from the Balurghat Lok Sabha seat is trailing by a margin of 186823 votes against TMC candidate Biplab Mitra, as per the ECI.

Meanwhile, Trinamool Congress General Secretary and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s nephew and candidate from Diamond Harbour seat, Abhishek Banerjee is leading from the seat with a margin of 431736 votes.

Currently, TMC is leading in 31 seats, while BJP is leading in 10 and Congress is leading in a lone seat in West Bengal.

Strict security measures have been implemented to ensure the smooth counting of votes for more than 8,000 candidates in this general election. Vote counting commenced at 8 pm today.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the TMC won 22 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state, and the BJP won 18. Congress won only 2 seats.

Earlier, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said that a “very robust system” has been put in place. “There are around 10.5 lakh booths. Each booth will have 14 tables. There are observers and micro-observers. Nearly, 70-80 lakh people are involved in the process,” he said.

Results of the Assembly elections in Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Andhra Pradesh were held simultaneously with voting for the 543-member Lok Sabha. Results of 175 Assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh and 147 Assembly constituencies in Odisha and results of bypolls in 25 Assembly constituencies will also be declared today.

The Lok Sabha elections were conducted in seven phases- on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20, May 25 and June 1. (ANI)

Share This Article