K R Puram-Whitefield Metro line all set for inauguration by PM on Saturday

3 Min Read

BENGALURU: The much awaited 13.71-km-long Namma Metro line between K R Puram and Whitefield in the city will be inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi at 1.35 pm on March 25. With this Metro service, Silicon City will be the second among metros to cover far-flung parts of the city, next only to Delhi.

The KR Puram and Whitefield Metro stations boast of additional features like more parking slots for two-wheelers and cars.

Among the features include:

  • Arrangement made for entry and exit of BMTC buses.
  • Skywalk for the benefit of Metro commuters to cross the road
  • Flyover giving direct access to ITPB at Pattandur Agrahara station.
  • All necessary facilities created for Divyang.
  • 8 escalators, 4 elevators and 8 stairs have been made at all Metro stations for passenger convenience.

After the inauguration, Modi will travel on the Metro and hold a mega Road show in several places in the city. The BMRCL and police have made all arrangements for the road show and the dog squad and bomb squad have conducted inspections.

Barricades have installed both sides of the road from Dinnur Cross and Whitefield to the Metro station and BJP banners and flags have been put up both the sides.

As per the schedule, after travelling by the Metro, the PM will leave from Channasandra Metro station towards HAL airport by road. The police have imposed traffic restrictions due to the PM’s visit to Whitefield.

Public vehicle movement is prohibited from 11 am to 2.30 pm and Traffic department provided alternative routes for traffic movement.

  • From Varthur Kodi to Hope Farm via to Kannamangala Gate
  • From Channasandra-Hope Farm via Hoodi Circle
  • Traffic restriction from Kundalahalli Road via Vydehi Hospital to Hope Farm Junction.

Alternative route arrangements

  • From Varthur Kodi via Kundalahalli Bridge to reach Old Airport road.
  • From Channasandra Circle towards Nagondanahalli, Immadihalli Hagadur via Varthur Kodi
  • From Katamanallur Cross to Shigehalli Gate towards Kadugodi Nalarashta via Channasandra
  • Vehicle from Hoodi Circle can move towards Graphite India Road to reach Kundalahalli
  • From Hoodi Circle, reach Katamnallur Cross via Ayyappanagar, Bhattarahalli-Medahalli.


Meanwhile, the Veerashaiva Lingayat Sanghatana Vedike has demanded that the government name Namma Metro as Jagatjyothi Basaveshwara Metro. A memorandum was handed over to CM Basavaraj Bommai on Friday by various organisations such as All India Veerashaiva Lingayat Mahasabha, Suvarana Karnataka Veerashaiva Lingayat Mahasabha and the Veerashaiva Lingayat Mahavedike. The CM promised them to discuss it with the autorities concerned before coming to a decision.

Share This Article