In Haryana, Rahul Gandhi targets PM Modi over Agniveer scheme

Public TV English
Public TV English
3 Min Read

MAHENDRAGARH (Haryana): Congress leader Rahul Gandhi on Wednesday targeted Prime Minister Narendra Modi over the Agniveer scheme, reiterating that the party would scrap it after it forms the government at the Centre after the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

Addressing a public meeting in Haryana’s Mahendragarh, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi said, “…Prime Minister Narendra Modi has made the jawans of India like labourers… The Army doesn’t want the Agniveer scheme, it’s a scheme made by the Prime Minister’s Office. Once Congress comes to power (forms government at the Centre) we will throw this scheme in the dustbin…”

“The farmers of Haryana work in the fields of the country; the Modi government snatched away your rights and abolished the Land Tribunal Bill to help the billionaires; then three (farm) laws came, but the government had to step back”, Rahul Gandhi added.

The Congress leader further said, “I undertook a yatra across the country, and the farmers told me their views, but all this was not visible in the media, only Modi ji’s face and marriage were visible.” Rahul Gandhi accused PM Modi of waiving the loans of 22 rich people. “Loans were waived off during the United Progressive Alliance, and Modi ji has waived off the loans of 22 rich people. This is an insult to the farmers”, he said.

The Lok Sabha elections for the 10 parliamentary constituencies of Haryana are going to be held in a single phase on May 25. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in the state, the BJP swept, capturing all 10 seats. In the 2014 elections, the BJP won 7 seats, while the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) won 2 seats and the Congress secured only one seat.

The first five phases of polling were held on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13 and May 20. The next two rounds of voting will be held on May 25 and June 1. The 2024 Lok Sabha elections are being held in seven phases, in a six-week marathon running from April 19 to June 1. The results will be announced on June 4. (ANI)

Share This Article