Bommai confident of BJP’s victory in Karnataka LS polls, says all sections of society support PM Modi

Public TV English
3 Min Read

HAVERI: Former chief minister and BJP’s candidate from Gadag-Haveri Lok Sabha constituency, Basavaraj Bommai, expressed confidence in his party’s victory in the upcoming Lok Sabha election, saying that the people of all sections of society are supporting Prime Minister Narendra Modi, given his performance in the last ten years.

Addressing a press conference here on Sunday, the last day for campaigning for the third phase of voting in the country and the second phase in the state, he said, “This time, 35 days were available for the campaign. The voters are mature and know the importance of the ongoing election. They have decided to hand over the nation to those leaders who are capable of administering it ably. Seeing the performance of Modi in the last ten years, people of all sections of society are supporting him”.

Replying to a question about the PM trying to sow the seed of hate among the religions without talking about his government’s achievements, Bommai said, “Modi has been talking about his government’s achievements in the last six months but Rahul Gandhi spoke about the redistribution of wealth. He changed his statement after the backlash”.

He also exuded confidence in his victory over Congress candidate Anandaswamy Gaddadevaramath, saying, “I am confident of winning the election by a big margin”. Anandaswamy Gaddadevaramath is the son of former MLA G S Gaddadevarmath.

Basavaraj Bommai, a two-time MLC and four-time MLA, is a key face of BJP in the state. He was Chief Minister from July 2021 to May 2023 and has been talking to the people about the welfare initiatives during his term.

Karnataka has 28 Lok Sabha seats and elections in the state are being held in two phases. Voting for 14 seats concluded on April 26 and the remaining 14 seats will undergo polling on May 7. The counting of votes is scheduled for June 4.

In 2019, the BJP almost swept the state by winning 25 out of 28 seats, while Congress and JD(S), who were running a coalition government in the state, could only win one seat each. This time, the BJP and JD(S) are in coalition, with the former fighting on 25 seats, while the latter is contesting on three seats. (ANI)

Share This Article
Exit mobile version