Akhanda Srinivas Murthy to resign as MLA as uncertainty over Pulakeshi Nagar continues

1 Min Read

BENGALURU: The Congress party has released three lists for the upcoming Assembly, but the party has so far not named its candidate for Pulakeshi Nagar Assembly segment, currently represented by Akhanda Srinivas Murthy. With uncertainty looming, he is now planning to resign as MLA.

On Saturday, Srinivas Murthy held a meeting with his supporters to discuss the party’s decision to deny him a ticket. The supporters said that they would stand by him whatever he decides. On Sunday, he went to Sirsi to submit his resignation as MLA to Assembly Speaker Vishveshwara Hegde Kageri at the latter’s residence.

Congress leaders Siddaramaiah and Zameer Ahmed Khan had backed Akhanda Srinivas Murthy for the ticket, while D K Shivakumar had not supported his candidature before the party high command.

Share This Article