11 elected unopposed to Council; BJP-JD(S) candidate trounces Cong nominee by huge margin

Public TV English
Public TV English
1 Min Read

BENGALURU, MYSURU: Eleven candidates have been elected unopposed to the Legislative Council in the biennial elections. They include seven candidates from Congress, three from BJP and one from JD(S) according to returning officer Vishalakshi.

The Congress candidates elected unopposed are Boseraju, Ivan D’Souza, Vasanth Kumar, Bilkis Bano, Jagadev Guttedar, Govindaraju and Yathindra Siddaramaiah. From the BJP, C T Ravi, N Ravikumar and MG Mule and the JD(S) candidate Javarayi Gowda were elected unopposed.

Counting of votes was taken up today. Meanwhile, in another major embarrassment for Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, BJP-JD(S) alliance candidate K Vivekananda trounced Congress candidate Marithibbegowda in the South Teachers constituency by securing the highest number of 4,622 first preferential votes. While 1,049 votes were invalid, Vatal Nagaraj secured only 84 preferential votes.

Share This Article