‘Will continue my fight for farmers of Mandya’ says BJP leader Sumalatha Ambareesh

Public TV English
4 Min Read

UDUPI : BJP leader and Mandya MP, Sumalatha Ambareesh, said on Saturday that her fight is going to continue for the farmers no matter whoever becomes the MP after the election.

“When I won as an independent MLA, we had to face several challenges and solved a lot of problems, mainly the reopening of different sugar factories and the Rampat illegal mining. Mandya is an agrarian district, agriculture is the main livelihood there so it’s a farmer’s district,” Ambareesh told ANI.

“I had stood by my farmers very solidly throughout my turn and also in Parliament, I raised several issues regarding to my constituency as well as the state so going forward, I think right now we are looking at a severe drought situation in the state, especially in my district of Mandya so we have to look at several solution to the farmers problems they are facing,” she added.

“I intent to still take up my fight against illegal mining, no matter whoever becomes the MP after the election. I think my fight is going to continue for my farmers,” the BJP leader said.

In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, Ambareesh is not contesting from Mandya and the BJP’s alliance partner, Janata Dal (Secular) candidate and former Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, is contesting from Mandya constituency.

When asked about her views on JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy, who is contesting from the Mandya constituency this time, Ambareesh said, “BJP’s wave is very strong. People see Narendra Modi as the only leader. I think the BJP has a steady foundation across the country and in Karnataka, too, it’s a very positive outlook,” she said.

“Some people who are dividing South and North because of their political gain are going to lose the elections because in Karnataka, huge wave is in favour of BJP. The BJP will form the government for the third term,” she added.

Ambareesh joined BJP ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections on April 5, 2024, in the presence of former Chief Ministers B S Yediyurappa & D V Sadananda Gowda, State President B Y Vijayendra, Leader of Opposition in the State Assembly R Ashoka, and national general secretary in charge of elections in Karnataka Radha Mohan Das Agarwal.

Kumaraswamy will be contesting the elections as the joint candidate of his party and its alliance partner, the BJP, against Congress’ Venkataramane Gowda.

Karnataka, which has 28 Lok Sabha seats, will vote in two phases on April 26 and May 7.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress and JD(S) fought together against the BJP. The BJP had won a record 25 seats; Congress and JD(S) won just one seat each. The Lok Sabha Elections 2024 will be held in seven phases starting on April 19. The counting of votes on June 4. (ANI)

Share This Article
Exit mobile version