Oppn to field ‘common candidate’ for July 18 Presidential poll, no name decided yet

2 Min Read

Opposition leaders after the meeting held to discuss Presidential candidate for election.

NEW DELHI: Opposition leaders, who met in the national capital on Wednesday, announced that they have decided to field a consensus candidate for the Presidential poll, scheduled to be held on July 18.

“Several parties were here today. We’ve decided we will choose only one consensus candidate. Everybody will give this candidate our support. We will consult with others. This is a good beginning. We sat together after several months and we will do it again,” TMC leader Mamata Banerjee said after the meeting.

“Opposition leaders adopted a resolution to field a common candidate in the forthcoming Presidential poll. A candidate who can truly serve as a custodian of the Constitution and stop the Modi government from doing further damage to Indian democracy and India’s social fabric,” said Sudheendra Kulkarni.

CPI MP Binoy Viswam said that Mamta Banarjee had proposed NCP’s Sharad Pawar’s name as the Presidential candidate of the Opposition, but Pawar did not accept that proposal.

Leaders of 17 political parties joined a crucial meeting of opposition parties convened by Mamata Banerjee to build consensus on fielding a joint candidate against the NDA in the presidential election here.

The TMC, Congress, CPI, CPI(M), CPI-ML, RSP, Shiv Sena, NCP, RJD, SP, National Conference, PDP, JD(S), DMK, RLD, IUML and JMM participated in the meeting held at the Constitution Club of India here.

Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party also did not participate in the meeting. The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), led by Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao, did not send a representative to the meeting. (ANI)

Share this Article
Exit mobile version