Karnataka Deputy CM-designate D K Shivakumar: “Everything is well and will be well…,”

5 Min Read

NEW DELHI: Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister-designate D K Shivakumar on Thursday said that everything is well in the party and everyone will work together after the Congress decided on the posts following hectic deliberations in the aftermath of the party’s emphatic win in the recent assembly elections in the State.

“Everything is well and will be well. We had passed a one-line resolution that we will abide by the decision of the high command. Rahul Gandhi called me and said we all have to work together. Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge called us and gave this diktat. We all have accepted whatever formula has been generated. said that we all have to work together and we accepted it,” Shivakumar said. Earlier Indian Youth Congress National President, Srinivas B V felicitated Shivakumar.

Youth Congress president Srinivas B V greeting Deputy CM-designate D K Shivakumar in New Delhi on Thursday.

Before heading to Bengaluru, Shivakumar thanked media persons and said, “Last night, I have officially written to the governor to hold the swearing-in ceremony at 12.30 pm on May 20. I have also convened a meeting of the legislature party today at 7 pm in Bengaluru. We are heading to Bengaluru today and we will return on Friday.

“The people have given us a huge responsibility and we have to repay their debt. Mallikarjun Kharge, Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi and others have held discussions. We are going by the decision of the high command”, he added.

D K Shivakumar said he and Siddaramaiah will return to Delhi on Friday.

Earlier in the day, at a press conference in the national capital, Congress general secretary K C Venugopal announced that party leader Siddaramaiah will be the next Karnataka Chief Minister and DK Shivakumar will be his sole deputy. Shivakumar will also remain as the Congress’ Karnataka Pradesh chief till the Lok Sabha polls next year, he said. “D K Shivakumar will continue as the PCC president till the end of parliamentary elections. The CM, Deputy CM and a group of ministers will be sworn in on May 20”, Venugopal said.

Crediting the party’s emphatic victory in Karnataka to the people of the State, Venugopal said that both Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar “deserve” to become the chief ministers. “I would like to sincerely thank the people of Karnataka for the victory of the Congress and for standing by the party. Our president Khargeji, Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi and all the CMs campaigned extensively”, Venugopal said.

“We have a very good chunk of leaders there in our party in Karnataka. Siddaramaiah and D K Shivakumar are dynamic leaders and are assets for the party. Definitely, everyone has a wish and desire of becoming Chief Minister and they deserve it also, both of them deserve it also”, he added.

AICC general secretary Randeep Singh Surjewala, who is incharge of Karnataka, said Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Yatra laid the foundation of the party’s campaign in the State.

Meanwhile, preparations are underway at Bengaluru’s Sree Kanteerava Stadium where the swearing-in ceremony of the new Karnataka government is expected to be held on May 20. Leaders of opposition parties are expected to attend the swearing-in ceremony. “We will invite people from like-minded parties to take part in the swearing-in ceremony in Karnataka”, Venugopal said.

Randeep Singh Surjewala, AICC in-charge of Karnataka said, “Our only formula is the service of people. Whoever wants to serve the people can do so, as much as they want. All our allies will be invited (to the oath-taking ceremony). This is not a celebration, but Congress’s dedication to democracy…those who want to fight for democracy and save the Constitution, can attend the event”.

The decision on the next Karnataka Chief Minister came following days of hectic parleys in Delhi after the newly-elected Karanataka MLAs authorised party chief Mallikarjun Kharge to choose their leader. Both Siddaramaiah, a former Chief Minister, and Shivakumar had staked their claims to be chief minister.

The party leadership held a series of meetings over the past four days and several formulas were mooted before a decision was arrived. The Congress bagged 135 seats in the May 10 elections to the 224-member Karnataka Assembly ousting the ruling BJP, which got 66 seats while the Janata Dal (Secular) secured 19 seats (ANI)

Share this Article
Exit mobile version