Shah Rukh Khan, Madhuri Dixit, Aditya Chopra invited to be members of the Academy Awards panel


Last year, when the Oscars committee announced the list of new members of the Academy, it was met with a backlash. Indian fans were mighty angry that Shah Rukh Khan was not extended an invitation. Finally, correcting it this year, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited the Indian superstar to be a member along with many other names, to bring in diversity.

The members of the Academy are responsible for participating in the nominations process. For the Academy, the idea is to recruit as many people from different walks of cinema, from different parts of the world as they can to bring in diversity. We would not want another #OscarSoWhite. Right? So from now on, if she chooses to accept the invite, Shah Rukh Khan will get the chance to take part in the nomination process and vote for the talents he thinks deserves to be nominated. Until last year, there were 7,258 active voting members at the Oscars. This year invitations have been extended to a record-breaking 928 members from different parts of the world. And BTW Shah Rukh Khan is not the only one who will be joining the Academy as a member. In fact, his Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge, Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi director Aditya Chopra, too, has been invited.

Madhuri Dixit and Tabu are the only two Indian actresses invited this year. Other actors who have received an invitation are Anil Kapoor, Naseeruddin Shah and Ali Fazal. The list doesn’t end there as there are many technical marvels from Indian who might become a member of the Academy. Here is every Indian name who has been invited this year:

Anil Mehta – cinematographer – Secret Superstar

Manish Malhotra – designer

Subrata Chakraborty – production designer – Haider

Amit Ray  – production designer – Haider

Ballu Saluja – music director – Dangal

Usha Khanna -music director

Sneha Khanwalkar – music composer – Gangs of Wasseypur

Nitin Sawhney – musician – Breathe

Aditya Chopra – YRF head honcho – Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge, Dhoom

Bishwadeep Chatterjee – sound designer – Madras Cafe, 3 Idiots

Previous year’s list included Amitabh Bachchan, Priyanka Chopra, Deepika Padukone, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Irrfan Khan, Aamir Khan and Salman Khan.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here